Drvenik is a place very rich in history and archaeological sites. One of the most prominent is the prehistoric Gradina fort. At that site in 1687 a battle, mentioned in the epic songs, took place between women from Drvenik and Turkish conquerors. Among the sites, there are also the renewed Church of St. George from the 14th century; Croatian version of "Romeo and Juliet" - a monument to unhappy love "Kostanića greb", from the 15th century; old walking path through Biokovo where Fortis copied Hasanaginica.
First mentioned in the 13th century, Drvenik was named after the word tree (“drvo”). The remains of the old dwellings in the old village of Drvenik, located at the very foot of the mountain, still remind of that time and reflect the vernacular, Dalmatian architecture. On each of many hills there is a plenty of tombs of the Illyrians who lived there before the arrival of the Croats. In some localities there are also Illyrian and Roman settlements.
The goal of the Tourist Board of Drvenik, together with other stakeholders and interested partners, is to restore all the historical and archaeological sites, as well as to encourage the excavation of some sites in order to discover secrets still hidden underneath.